Sometimes Bad Things Happen…

There are dark moments in life. Moments when it seems that goodness no longer exists. Sometimes these moments are caused by  medical problems, family issues, or sometimes they’re a result of just a general, run-of-the-mill, crummy day. Whatever it may be, one thing you can count on in life…  bad things will happen.

I’ve recently had such a moment. The details are really unimportant. Suffice it to say, I (myself and my husband) made a decision in the best interest of my family. It was a decision that negatively affected another member. I’ve since been accused of all manner of things.

I guess at the end of the day, we, and we alone are responsible for our own decisions. Although we are influenced in our lives by past and present circumstances, they cannot dictate sound judgement. We are responsible for the here and now. Responsible for the lives of the people that depend upon us. Responsible for seeking out wisdom…no matter how badly we’ve felt mistreated.

These are tough moments where pride is stripped away, and we, in humility and faith, step out. We go against the grain. Choose the unpopular path. The path that, in all likelihood, will make us persona non grata. 

My recent situation has resulted in multiple people voicing their shame of me. I know Christ is not and has never been ashamed of me. He says so…in Him there is no condemnation. (Romans 8:1) My actions are subject to his grace and no one else’s. 

This is a dark moment and cannot be ignored. It cannot be swept under the rug. We will all have these moments…but they aren’t without hope. Hope in knowing I serve one God who will provide, will answer, will listen, will counsel…will love and hold me…”even until the end of the age.” (Matt 28:20)

“But if any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him.”

‭‭James‬ ‭1:5‬ ‭NASB‬‬

2 thoughts on “Sometimes Bad Things Happen…

Leave a Reply

