Hand-Made

This has to be the fastest summer on record! I don’t recall ever having gone to more swim practices, football practices, gotten bitten by more mosquitoes/fire ants, or having sweated it out at more games and meets than you could shake a stick at. So much so, that here we are facing the end of September and the last time I had to sit down and blog was May!

That being said, I’ve had very little time to properly deep-clean my house or work in the yard. At one point during the summer my grass and flower beds were close to becoming one organism…the grass/weeds were about to take over the mulched beds. On one evening, after dragging my and my son’s tired butts home from yet another “oh-joy-fun-filled” day of summer, I perchance glanced over into the yard and was horrified. Although truthfully, my horror wasn’t so much at the weeds. My shock stemmed more from, “What on earth are my neighbors going to think of me and this yard!?!” My yard was beginning to look like the red-headed stepchild in the bunch.

Why are we so worried about what other people think of us? I fret over that very topic more times than I care to admit. What other people think of me is really none of my business.

I try very hard to hide my shortcomings. Sometimes these shortcomings are simple things…dirty toilet, laundry going sky-high, etc. Sometimes they are deeper…fear of flying, panic over a recent MRI. Sometimes they are dark.

I don’t believe we are to hide any of our shortcomings including our fears, faults or failures.

I always beat myself up with my failures. However, have you ever noticed that when you begin sharing your failures with others they no longer carry the punch they used to? When I tell people about my MS…this fear in my life no longer bothers me. My fears and failures become things and I am not a sum of their parts.

I’ve had friends in my life that lead the perfect life. House looks great. They are great…hair, nails, make-up, clothes, purses, jewelry. They’re always smiling. Kids have perfect grades. Blah. Blah. Blah. I have a hard time connecting with those people. It’s almost like they aren’t real. When we are truly honest about who we are, connections are made. We become approachable. People can relate to someone who has failed because we’ve all failed at some point. Scripture says that all have failed and fallen short of God’s glory. Perhaps our shortcomings are the common denominator between all humans. Christ came along and removed the power our shortcomings have over us. (Romans 8:1)

I have a little pot my son made for me in art class. On the day he brought it home, he proudly presented it to me and said, “Mom, I made you a vessel!” It has his hand prints where he smooshed and mashed the clay together to form the pot. I can see the outline of his fingerprints all over it. By no means is the pot perfect as it does not bear the smooth, glossiness that a manufactured pot at the store might have. It’s lumpy in most areas and a little crooked. That’s no different than us. We are pots that the Father has had to come in and form and shape. We have the handprints of our Lord all over us where He has stepped in and fixed a crack, healed a wound or plugged a hole. Our shapes are a little crooked and lumpy. We are not manufactured nor are we mass produced. We are lovingly hand-made.

Our cracks should always be on display. When we share them, people don’t tend to see our failures any longer; they see a Savior.

“God went for the jugular when he sent His own Son. He didn’t deal with the problem as something remote and unimportant. In His Son, Jesus, He personally took on the human condition, entered the disordered mess of struggling humanity in order to set it right once and for all. The law code, weakened as it always was by fractured human nature, could never have done that.” Romans 8:3-4 (MESSAGE)

Leave a Reply

