New Year’s Resolution

I’ve never been much of a fan of the New Year’s resolution idea. I love the idea of starting fresh and new…but, I’ve always been of the opinion that you don’t need a “special” day to decide to implement the new. Why isn’t July 12th a good day to start something new, or October 8th for that matter? Those are equally good days in the calendar year. However, giving it a little thought, I can kind of see the logic behind starting something fresh in conjunction with a new year. So, without further adieu and with all my “New Year’s Resolution curmudgeon-ing” set aside, I did set a “New Year’s resolution.” Here goes…

I am a type-A personality. I much prefer order, discipline and a schedule as compared to the more spontaneous way of life. This might sound boring to some, however, to me it’s like putting on a warm coat…familiar and comfortable. A routine ensures something will get accomplished each day. Order means …well, order…a place for everything and everything in it’s place. Discipline. I hate discipline…but, you can’t knock it’s results. Combined, these three characteristics help me wade through difficult times and provide the framework in which I have grown accustomed to living.

Not this year.

This year, I want to live in the middle of the chaos and enjoy the blessing it brings. I want to entertain family and friends and delight fully in their company irregardless of whether or not my toilets are spic and span. I want to ignore the mess and focus on who is around me. I firmly believe God brings people across our path for a good reason. Further, how can we ever enjoy the beauty of the sunset unless we commit to slow down. In short, I guess what I’m saying is that my priorities are no longer my priorities. I guess I’m going to give them to God and let Him determine the priority for the second, minute, hour or day. Maybe what I define as chaos is really just God hollering at me trying to get my attention. Maybe chaos is God saying, “Hey! Look at Me.”

I’m already uncomfortable with this resolution. To me it feels like choosing to be out of control. I guess that is what blogging is for…good old fashioned accountability. In other words, I blogged about it, so I better “pony up” and stick to it. Honestly, I don’t think the year will progress that way. I know there will be slip ups. I know I will fight to take the reins. But I know my God is bigger and He promised never to leave me the way He found me.

I think it is going to be a good year.

Leave a Reply

