The Housing Market Really Sucks Right Now

In case you’ve been living underneath a rock, we happen to be in an economic recession. Occasionally I’ll hear of an analyst trying to tell us that the market has bottomed out and we are headed back up. Hello! Clearly this analyst hasn’t tried to sell a home during the recession.

My husband and I have sold two houses since the recession hit. The first one we took a considerable hit on and the new owners wanted a goodly portion of my furniture to seal the deal. What are you gonna do? Gripe because someone wants your bedroom furniture or hold out and maintain that mortgage payment while your family is trying to move on with life in another city. Suffice it to say, they got my bedroom furniture along with the flat panel TV & various other items in my home.

It wasn’t an easy call. It’s amazing how much our stuff means to us. It’s ours…not yours! Keep your grubby hands off of it…because someday when I die, I’m taking it with me!

You know that scripture verse…”The Lord gives and the Lord takes away; Blessed be the name of the Lord.” That’s a tough one to handle. I don’t know about you, but I hold pretty tightly to my stuff. Those times in my life…and they seem to be very frequently these days…where I’ve had to give up something that was mine, they are moments of freedom and faith. Where I’ve finally let go of what I thought was important and trust that Lord must surely have something in mind…whether it is a seed He is planting for someone else or He is working on my own heart. They’re moments of bitter-sweetness; bitter because I don’t want to let go, but sweet because when I finally let go…I see Him.

I heard a quote from Corrie ten Boom that I’ve mulled over in my mind so many times: “I’ve learned that we must hold everything loosely, because when I grip it tightly, it hurts when the Father pries my fingers loose and takes it from me!”

So, although the housing market really sucks right now, our God does not work in the economic parameters of this world. I am living proof of that; considering that I’ve just sold my second house during one of the worst economic recessions in this nation’s history. It’s very difficult to let go of what we hold dear. But if we don’t let go, how can we expect the Lord to continue to fill us up …we’ve hung so tightly to what we have that we have no room for the blessings He wants to give.

You know that saying, “Let Go & Let God” …I personally find it very corny and annoying. However, once you’ve released your death grip on what might be slipping out of your fingers and finally show the Lord a little faith, peace sets in. Now you are free to accept the blessing-whatever it may be. And yes, it is much easier said than done. It is a complete act of faith. One that cannot be proved by science or study on human behavior. It isn’t for the faint of heart…it’s hard to do. In the end, it shows humility. Recognizing that we do not know it all… believing that our God does…trusting that He will provide. Faith…that’s what it is.

